Navigating Data Center Compliance: Understanding Tier 2/3 and HIPAA/ISO 27001 Standards

- Team Vast

January 27, 2024-Update

In the complex landscape of data center operations, understanding and adhering to various compliance standards is crucial. This article will explore the differences and similarities between Tier 2/3 data center classifications and compliance standards like HIPAA and ISO 27001, providing insights for businesses navigating these regulations.

Understanding Data Center Tiers

Data centers are classified into four tiers by the Uptime Institute, based on their uptime and redundancy levels. Tier 2 and Tier 3 data centers are particularly relevant for growing businesses and large organizations.

Tier 2 Data Centers offer a single path for power and cooling but include some redundant and backup components. They promise an uptime of 99.741% per year, translating to up to 22 hours of downtime annually​​.

Tier 3 Data Centers provide multiple paths for power and cooling, with redundant systems that allow maintenance without downtime. They boast an uptime of 99.982% per year, equating to less than 1.6 hours of downtime annually​​.

These tiers offer a balance between performance, reliability, and cost, making them suitable for businesses that require consistent uptime without the need for the extensive redundancies of Tier 4.

Compliance Standards: HIPAA and ISO 27001

Compliance standards like HIPAA and ISO 27001 are essential for data centers, especially those handling sensitive information.

HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) is a U.S. legislation focused on protecting sensitive patient information managed by healthcare organizations. It requires entities to implement physical, administrative, and technical safeguards for Protected Health Information (PHI), which can be supported by the infrastructure and redundancy offered by Tier 2 and Tier 3 facilities​​.

ISO 27001 is an international standard for information security management. It includes 114 controls in areas like access control, physical and environmental security, and incident management. While ISO 27001 certification does not equate to HIPAA compliance, its controls significantly overlap with HIPAA requirements​. Tier 2 and Tier 3 data centers can support ISO 27001 compliance through their security measures, operational sustainability, and staff expertise​​.'s Datacenter Compliance has a network of dozens of datacenters that have ISO 27001 and TIER 2 or 3 ratings. has done due diligence and confirmed that these provider’s equipment is in a facility with an up to date compliance certificate.

To find providers, use the “Secure Cloud (Only Trusted Datacenters)” filter on the search page at secure cloud has providers with at least one of the following certifications:

  • ISO 27001
  • TIER 2
  • TIER 3

For production services where uptime and data security are vital, use the trusted datacenter filter and look for the blue datacenter label.

Final Thoughts

Choosing a data center that aligns with compliance needs is crucial for businesses. Tier 2 and Tier 3 data centers offer balanced and cost-effective solutions for organizations requiring consistent uptime and robust security measures.'s secure cloud offering empowers businesses to navigate this landscape efficiently, ensuring compliance and security. As the digital landscape evolves, staying compliant and resilient remains a top priority, a challenge that is well-equipped to meet.

Share on
  • Contact
  • Get in Touch